Adam Why?

On Clowns

Why are so many people scared of clowns? 🤡

Clowns should not look scary. Clowns should look funny. Unless they are supposed to be scary clowns. But why are many frightened by the normal ones?

Characteristics of a (standard) clown:

I find fascinating what highly specific things people are scared of. My mom has always been afraid of moths. My partner is afraid of spiders. And clowns. I was afraid of the door peephole when I was younger. But the animals and archetypes I find most interesting - because there might just be something deeper and symbolic the conscious mind is afraid to face about itself.

I think people are frightened by the brazen expression of a clown. Going beyond the limits of acceptable behaviour. The intense emotionality. Being unpredictable, changeable... free in a sense.

When you see a drugged person on the street you might feel afraid not knowing their next move. Rightfully so - who knows if they don't suddenly attack you. When you see a normal looking person going in a set direction without any intent or interest towards you in their eyes and body language, the mind can very quickly write them off as "predicted", not posing any danger. The mind is scanning its surroundings all the time, looking for dangers, setting the pathway, predicting what's going to happen. This is happening so fast it's hardly noticeable.

The brazen expression of a clown reminds me of characters from dreams, the unconscious. Dream interpretation and especially Active Imagination helped me learn a better attitude towards such characters - not one of fear, but one of approachability and willing to listen, though still retaining cautiousness.

The clown is not scary. Though if he is to you - that's worth looking into!